We will not be intimidated


September 27, 2012

We have less than 40 days before Election Day and with thousands of people still not registered to vote, we must double our efforts to get our fellow citizens to the polls.

It has not been a fair fight. Tactics have been put in place to hustle voters and sway the elections.

To intimidate and deter minority voters, such as Arab Americans, 17 states have passed restrictive voting laws that will impact the 2012 election (Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Mississippi, New Hampshire, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin). These states account for 218 electoral votes, nearly 80 percent of that needed to win the presidency! 

It’s time we make it clear that we are not okay with this -- we are not okay with domestic laws designed to intimidate voters and take awa